Published by Folio Society, London in 1995. This three volume book set is in excellent condition, with just some minor wear to the slipcase which includes a gilt lettered side. The covers have the same design, with just the title changed - King Solomon's Mines, Allan Quartermain and She. The books are introduced by Frank Delaney and there are illustrations by David Eccles across all three of the books. 


African Adventures is the series of stories that spans 50 years of Allan Quatermain's life, from 18 to 68; at the start of the foundation novel King Solomon's Mines he has just turned 55, giving him a birthdate of 1830. Physically, he is small, wiry, and unattractive, with a beard and short hair that sticks up. His one skill is his marksmanship, where he has no equal. Quatermain is aware that as a professional hunter, he has helped to destroy his beloved wild free places of Africa. In old age he hunts without pleasure, having no other means of making a living.

African Adventures by H. Rider Haggard

Gift Wrapping
  • If you wish to return your purchase, please do so within five working days of receiving the book and in the condition upon which it was sold. Please contact us to let us know the reason why you wish to return it. 

© 2017 Bijou Bookshop. Proudly created with

  • Twitter Round
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Bijou Bookshop Facebook